≡ Menu

ABC 7: Winrar Archiever Review plus Giveaway

PS:- This review is done by one of our Forum members Grr.

Developer’s description:

WinRAR is a powerful tool allowing you to manage and control archive files. Console RAR supports archives only in RAR format, which names usually have a “.rar” extension. ZIP and other formats are not supported. Windows users may install GUI RAR version – WinRAR, which is able to process much more archive types.

RAR features include:

  • Highly sophisticated, original compression algorithm
  • Special compression algorithms optimized for text, audio,
  • graphics data, 32 and 64-bit Intel executables
  • Better compression than similar tools, using ‘solid’ archiving
  • Authenticity verification (registered version only)
  • Self-extracting archives and volumes (SFX)
  • Ability to recover physically damaged archives
  • Locking, password, file order list, file security & more …

The Good:

1. Light weight on system resources
2. Right click context menu integration

3. Small size
4. Ability to create Self-extracting archives and volumes (SFX)
5. Ability to recover physically damaged archives, using the recovery record
6. Compared to WinZip the compression is better.
7. Lot of Themes are available
8. Command line support
9. Settings could be imported/exported as .REG file.
10. Ability to add Information to the rar file
11. Continuous addition of new features from the developer
12. Supports all popular compression formats (RAR, ZIP, WinZip, CAB, ARJ, LZH, ACE, TAR, GZip, UUE, ISO, BZIP2, Z and 7-Zip).

13. Supports data encryption using 128 bit password encryption.
14. The RAR creation Wizard is very simple, and easy to use.
15. Allows different modes of compression such as fastest, fast, normal, good and best.

16. Allows splitting the resulting rar file into several parts based on predefined values or user-defined values. see-01

17. Ability to create Log file.
18. Simple & easy settings.

The Bad:

None

It supports both 32bit and 64 bit Operating system. You can download a trial version of Winrar.

GIVEAWAY :

Thanks to Yosefine from Winrar, I have Fifteen (15) Licenses of  Winrar to giveaway .  One license is reserved for reviewer Grr. The rules are simple. For being eligible to participate in contest/draw, you need to do the following:

  1. Subscribe to Avinashtech by entering your email address in the subscribe box on right sidebar of the blog or by clicking this link. Do remember to verify your email address when you get the verification email from Feedburner.
  2. After that, just leave your name and email address in the form by clicking this link.
  3. Leave a comment below telling why you would like to have Winrar License.

Keep in mind, Multiple entries will disqualify you from the draw.

Forum Discussion thread: Winrar Giveaway : Discussion and Review/ feedback

PS:- ADAWARE Pro Giveaway (25 licenses) Coming tomorrow.


{ 110 comments… add one }
  • smudgie December 10, 2010, 11:26 PM

    I would like to finally get the WinRar pro version so i can stop seeing that nag pop-up that i’ve been getting for years now when I’m using the expired evaluation version!

  • Ashwin December 10, 2010, 11:26 PM

    Nice review Grr 🙂

    I have a licensed version of Winrar 3.80. But it cant be updated

    I primarily use it to compress large attachments before mailing them.
    And to extract downloaded files of course.

    Thanks Avi for the giveaway. I have filled up the form 🙂

  • jelson December 10, 2010, 11:31 PM

    Why? Because WinRAR ROCKS!!! I’ve participated in every giveaway for this great app I’ve been able to find for over a year without luck 🙁

    Maybe, I’ll get lucky this time. One can hope. 🙂

    Thanks for the opportunity. Happy B-day!

  • Allfourthree December 10, 2010, 11:43 PM

    Heck Winrar is a must have on every pc, easy to use and powerful! My names in for the give away for sure!!

  • magno December 11, 2010, 12:02 AM

    I would like to earn a license because it was unique winrar unzip file I used.

  • Murphy December 11, 2010, 12:06 AM

    Hi,
    Thanks for this Giveaway ( and not only ) .
    I would like to win a license because from my point of view is the best archiving program .
    Best regards !

  • kaushik December 11, 2010, 12:26 AM

    i thank you for opportunity to have winrar. keep the good work.

  • hen_xuoi December 11, 2010, 12:30 AM

    I very want to have a licence.
    Please, count me in
    Thanks AVI

  • Vegito December 11, 2010, 12:41 AM

    Hi Avinash..:)

    Thanks for giveaway opportunity, special thanks to WinRAR team for providing the licenses, and Grr for the nice review. Please count me in. I’ve already subscribed via email and activated it. I’ve also filled up the form. I like WinRAR because it can backup my data and reduce the size of email attachments, decompress RAR, ZIP and other files downloaded from Internet and create new archives in RAR and ZIP file format.
    Happy 2nd Birthday,
    Vegito

  • guan-xi December 11, 2010, 1:04 AM

    I’ve been a frequent WinRAR user for many years. But for the several past giveaways covering older builds, I’ve had to limit myself with betas and trials which lose some functionality after 40 days.

    I hope to finally get the latest licensed version through this promo.

    Thank you very much for a great product and one of the best geek forums.

    Congratulations and Happy Birthday to you, Av. More power!

  • Niroopsingh December 11, 2010, 1:24 AM

    Thanks for this giveaway.Winrar is the best file compression tool and it is so useful for me.It is better than winzip and i want it.hope i win.
    Regards,
    niroop

  • malkhaz December 11, 2010, 1:34 AM

    Winrar is the greatest archiver, as I know, now I am using 7zip, but I want Winrar very much, and I hope,that Fortune will smile at me.

  • Jakub December 11, 2010, 1:47 AM

    WinRAR is an amazing archive manager. I’d wanted to have it in my system.
    Please count me in.
    Thanks Avi for wonderful giveaway!

    Jakub

  • Bionic December 11, 2010, 2:08 AM

    I’ve followed grr a few months on twitter and i think it’s the first time i’ve seen any review by him (Thumbs up), I’m momentarily using the covermount promotion of winrar 3.80 so upgrading to 64bit would be precious.

    Thanks Ash and Happy Anniversary & Thank you Yosefine for gathering a promotion here for WinRAR.

    The best & Merry Christmas to everyone.
    ❄❄❄❄❄❄❄❄❄❄❄❄❄❄❄❄❄

  • Cosme December 11, 2010, 2:18 AM

    Hello, count me in. I’ve subscribed and left my name and email in the form.
    I want a winrar license because I have used the trial for a lot of time and it’s a very good software, like the review says nothing is bad with it if you have paid for it (the nag screen is bad when using it without paying).
    Thanks

  • Andy December 11, 2010, 2:20 AM

    Thanks Avi for the giveaway.
    I like WinRAR because it can backup your data and reduce the size of email attachments, decompress RAR, ZIP.

  • Ajemsasa December 11, 2010, 2:57 AM

    I love Winrar. Thanks for the giveaway. Best regards from Belgrade!

  • iPrism December 11, 2010, 3:56 AM

    Hi Avinash,
    Thanks for the WinRaR giveaway.I feel this one is best paid Archiever for compressing and decompressing may files.I really like its data encryption feature of 128-bits for security and privacy and also its GUI is neat and easy to use.Additional thanks to Yosefine as well.Hoping to win this one.

  • qwer0 December 11, 2010, 4:17 AM

    The best archiver to me

  • District December 11, 2010, 4:34 AM

    Please count me.I am a longtime subscriber.I want a WinRaR license for its support of wide variety of different archive formats,I use.

  • Jebbrown December 11, 2010, 5:16 AM

    I used to own this a long, long time ago and liked it a lot. Since then I’ve had a few trial versions, but couldn’t justify paying the price – While I’d like to have it for the extra features it provides, I don’t really need it as some of the lighter free archivers do well enough. However if I could get a free version… 🙂

  • svwrt December 11, 2010, 5:38 AM

    Definitely one of the Best programs out there. It’s a “must have” for every computer and every user. And even it can serve as security program, by password protecting files, thus making it only available to the right owner. There are so many applications with simillar function, but there is only One that deserves spot number 1.
    It would be a privilege if i win and own a license.

  • Dariusz Hacz December 11, 2010, 6:05 AM

    Absolutely fantastic, the best archiver on the market. This contest is a great opportunity for the full version.

  • eee December 11, 2010, 6:13 AM

    Finally! I’ve been waiting for this for some time…
    Why would I like to have a WinRAR license? Simple: becouse it satisfies almost all of my compression/decompression needs and it’s high quality software. Thank you Avinash & RARLAB!

  • Kiku December 11, 2010, 6:42 AM

    WinRar is the popular & powerful archiver for RAR/Zip files.
    I would like to get this for my Win7 machine.

  • ToGor December 11, 2010, 6:52 AM

    The most successful and well-known program to handle the archive in each computer. I am using the free version. It would be nice if there was one in a fully legal version to my computer. Indeed – he would have Christmas gift.
    Thank you – and good luck to myself and others in this competition.

  • Mayur sharma December 11, 2010, 7:28 AM

    I would like to have one Winrar Licenses.
    Thanks for giveaway…

  • poohkt December 11, 2010, 7:57 AM

    WinRAR is a powerful all-in-one archiving solution – very useful software. I use it to compress large attachments for my email and to extract compressed files received.
    Please count me in. Thanks a lot.

  • Rahul December 11, 2010, 8:57 AM

    hi Avinash first of all congrats u to complete the two years in succesion in these two years u gave a lot to users speacially me i’ve learned a lot thanx for u to make things easiar for the users well i ll be more oblize if i win the winrar license hope u carry all good work for the coming years

  • TechBill December 11, 2010, 9:15 AM

    My main reason for wanting WinRAR is because it’s such a great program.

    TechBill

  • Dwight December 11, 2010, 9:25 AM

    As I am not a techie, I love creativity in softwares. I have been using open source compression softwares like 7z, Peazip and Izarc and paid Stuffit Deluxe. And have enjoyed all of them thoroughly for their different approaches, GUI etc.
    I have never tried the .rar format yet and would love to own one of it out of curosity.

  • hen_xuoi December 11, 2010, 9:39 AM

    Please, count me in !

  • Vaibhav Srivastava December 11, 2010, 10:03 AM

    winrar… nice compressing tool… like to have its license version by which i can avoid to see pop up again n again… count me too for the giveaway…

  • Fabald December 11, 2010, 10:42 AM

    I want to enter this contest , because winrar is best archive application all over the world
    Thank you , and good luck everyone

  • PlohoiDadenka December 11, 2010, 10:47 AM

    Очень хорошая программа по сравнению с другими архиваторами

    Very good program compared to other archivers

  • Eric Rondilla December 11, 2010, 10:50 AM

    Thanks Avi for a wonderful giveaway like this…Mabuhay!

  • Willy December 11, 2010, 10:51 AM

    I use the 7 Zip & WinRar trial version.
    Hopefully can win 1 license of WinRar then.

  • Neo December 11, 2010, 10:52 AM

    good review Grr
    dont count me

    just wanted to wish good luck to all and thx avi for organizing these giveaways
    just waiting for norton giveaway 🙂

  • Ibheck December 11, 2010, 11:41 AM

    from the first I’ve been very pleased with this software, in addition to speed and performance, other things that I like is because this software fully supports windows 7 64 bit and we can change the skin winrar with tastes that we want

  • asrielrusdyawan December 11, 2010, 1:49 PM

    WINRAR is on of the Oldest Archive Tools & for me it is the most powerful archive tool to read almost whole type of Archive. Hope I can win on License for this Giveaway time..

    THX, LJBU!

  • 2masterblaster2 December 11, 2010, 2:41 PM

    still one of the best ,i can use it because i use still the 3;80 version a upgrade woth be great

    cheers 1masterblaster2

  • k19s December 11, 2010, 2:41 PM

    Hi, I would like to win a license because Winrar is the best software out there for file compression. Tested the trail version and the compression algorithm is so powerful yet still using very little computer resources.
    Thanks

  • Ill_era December 11, 2010, 3:26 PM

    i’d like a key too :D…tnx for that offer

  • ha14 December 11, 2010, 4:00 PM

    Hi WInrar is an excellent tool and replace winzip in honest way, needed for extra features available that cant be foud in free alternative plus excellent suppor.winrar has good compression rate, useful feature is “Encrypt file names” i.e, when setting password to a .rar file, if this option is checked, the user will not be able to view even the filename in the compressed file. a self-installing file? WinZip and WinRAR both offer the SFX module options but only WinRAR allows you to customize your install logos, icons and your own copyright statements.

    for ranking winrar is better
    http://www.maximumcompression.com/data/summary_mf2.php

  • i d December 11, 2010, 5:54 PM

    I am using its trial version and want to avoid the nagging popup window.
    Thanks for the giveaway.
    isd

  • While32 December 11, 2010, 6:03 PM

    WinRar is the best archivier

  • springname December 11, 2010, 6:22 PM

    Winrar is “must have application”, it’s easy to use by intuitive interface and vastly effective in compression file. Currently using 7zip, hope this time can win one license of winrar
    Thanks Avi

  • amozai December 11, 2010, 6:36 PM

    This is really a geat tool and one of the must have tool for the archiving files, but I failed to get licence to unlock it unto now and I’m using 7-zip instead. Therefore, I will be very happy if I win a licence this time so that I can add it to my arsenal.

    Thanks a lot for sharing.

  • willieb December 11, 2010, 7:09 PM

    Avinash,
    Happy Birthday! Thanks for the giveaway(s). Very good review, Grr. Well done!
    I’d like to have WinRAR because I’m a software hoarder. I still have software on 5-1/4″ diskettes (actually even a couple of 8″). I’d really like to archive all my stuff. Although disk space is cheap these days, compressing multiple files to a single archive makes tracking easier.
    I bought WinZip so I could be an owner of a “lifetime” license. That lifetime ended with the update to v11, I believe, and they wanted me to buy another license.
    Please enter me in the giveaway.
    willieboy

  • Marek Kos December 11, 2010, 7:24 PM

    Hi
    Thanks for the opportunity to participate in the contest for the best archiever license.
    http://twitter.com/#!/Kosma04/status/13590871899373568
    Please, count me in

  • kosma04 December 11, 2010, 7:27 PM

    Hi
    Thanks for the opportunity to participate in the contest for the best archiever license.
    Please, count me in

  • Hakah December 11, 2010, 7:41 PM

    I like WinRar because it is a very simple and easy to use tool. It can compress and decompress any documents and can easily transport them via internet. Most important of all, it is a must to have tool you must possess or equip with to enable all sorts of works to be done each day. Simply say You just can’t do anything without it.
    Please include me in this giveaway and thanks to Avinashtech for this special event!

  • Slim December 11, 2010, 7:53 PM

    Count me in. A great choice of software for a giveaway.

  • Naveen December 11, 2010, 8:06 PM

    WinRAR offers unpacking support for a large number of archive formats, including TAR, ACE, BZ2, JAR, ISO, and ZIP. I hope to win this free giveaway.

  • Davhag64 December 11, 2010, 8:21 PM

    This is the best zip and rar program there is, nothing beats it. Would love to have a copy of this for my very own.

  • Boss December 11, 2010, 8:45 PM

    The good compression speed, the low memory usage, SFX capability and a great reputation is why I want to win WINRAR. Another incredible giveaway and thanks.

  • Piousson December 11, 2010, 8:56 PM

    Winrar is a best compression and extract program at the time. I alway use it to extract a lot of files when I download from internet. And I don’t want to use crack program because It is ilegal, So I hope that you can giveaway me and everyone a license genuine of the manufacturer. Thank you and happy birthday Avinashtech.

  • Relly December 11, 2010, 9:49 PM

    well, the best WinRar, i,ve been using for so long, a necessity for everybody using computer, the sadbthing i’m using an old version, be very glad if i’ll win one license, great offers thanks alot……

  • Ofen December 11, 2010, 11:46 PM

    I think it’s definitely the best program to compress data.I am using a free version for a very long time, and frankly, I do not imagine my computer without this program.I hope that someday I will manage to get the full version … and maybe even now?…
    My congratulations and I warmly greet!

    Thanks Avi

  • Jay P December 12, 2010, 1:52 AM

    I like to win a license of winRar because of its user friendly interface, fast compression speeds and supports multiple formats so I can easily archive my important data and documents.

    Thank you for the giveaway.

  • SirOliver December 12, 2010, 2:22 AM

    I like WINRAR because it’s simple and very useful tool and ability to repair damaged archives is good.Count on me.Cheers everyone.(review is very good).

  • Konrad December 12, 2010, 3:55 AM

    Thanks for this giveaway
    Winrar is the best software for file compression and extract. it’s easy to use and fully supports windows 7 64 bit.
    Please, count me in

  • dizzy December 12, 2010, 7:29 AM

    This is the software worth having in your computer.

  • Emil December 12, 2010, 8:45 AM

    Hi there, congratulations for this beautiful post & celibration of Avinashtech!
    Impressing work that have been done here by everyone, very nice:)

    Keep up the work & my best Wishes for a successful continuation of this well needed creation!
    Thank you guys for all great articles

    Sincerely
    //a non Mac user lol

  • David December 12, 2010, 10:47 AM

    Please , count me in

  • Number99 December 12, 2010, 1:01 PM

    I’ve been using Winrar for some time now, and I really would like to get a license for it because I love this program! 🙂

  • Chrille December 12, 2010, 1:01 PM

    Great application! I’d really would like to get my hands on a license!

  • Prakash December 12, 2010, 1:21 PM

    wish i am not late, winrar is a great softwares , i use its 3.80 ver , mostly i use winrar to extract and compress my data , another thing i like it because it support multiple extensions and compress and extract large data faster as compare to winzip .wish i will win a key for the latest version ..

    Thanks Avinash for the giveaway

  • Francis December 12, 2010, 2:00 PM

    I would like to win a license for winrar because it is the best archiver out there. I have been using it for more than decade

  • Erslan December 12, 2010, 3:33 PM

    Its the best software in the market. I subscribed the blog long time agao 🙂

    Thanks for giving away lic

  • kirks December 12, 2010, 4:55 PM

    Hi, thanks for this nice giveaway.
    I like winrar because it has a nice UI, better compression, and can encrypt files split big file, I would say its one of the best compression tool.

  • TestGOTD December 12, 2010, 5:57 PM

    Thanks AVINASH and Grr for giveaway. Please count me in.

  • Idriskurtum December 12, 2010, 6:49 PM

    Thanks Grr and Avi for the giveaway.
    winrar is a software that should be on every computer.

  • Anish December 12, 2010, 8:13 PM

    Hey Avinash thanks for this giveaway.
    I would love a winrar license as it is of great use to extract and compressing.
    Moreover I would like to get rid of the popup which says to purchase a license

  • Dhiraj Sinha December 12, 2010, 8:22 PM

    In my opinion Winrar is one of the “must have” utilities for any system.So obviously I have installed it on my laptop.However,it is an older version,3.80 to be precise,which I grabbed from a “Pc Welt” promotion.So,given a chance,I would definitely like to upgrade to the latest version.The feature that impresses me most is that while creating an encrypted archive,Winrar provides the option to encrypt even the file names!!.Now,this feature gives it a unique edge over Winzip because the ability to encrypt file names,file sizes and file attributes is only provided by the “rar format” archives which Winzip is unable to create.So keeping in mind the things I have said above,do include me in the giveaway please.
    P.S. I have already subscribed to the email newsletter

  • Dinesh Kumar December 12, 2010, 9:04 PM

    Winrar is the best in its category , i tried trial version , waiting for full version results , Merry christmas to all of you

  • Anth December 12, 2010, 10:12 PM

    I have never use Winrar and would like to try it.

  • Anthony December 12, 2010, 10:14 PM

    I would sandboxie to run in the background all the time for security issues.

  • Philip December 12, 2010, 10:15 PM

    I would to use it to unrar programs.

  • Rich December 12, 2010, 10:17 PM

    I have use Winrar but not the pro version. If i win i would it as my default rar program.

  • Nick December 12, 2010, 10:18 PM

    I used the previous version but never the new version.

  • Anth December 12, 2010, 10:18 PM

    One Please Please

  • Quasar's Ankh December 13, 2010, 1:37 AM

    This Winrar license would come in handy as it would replace other compressed file managers (including an older version of Winrar).

    So please count me in, thank you

  • noname December 13, 2010, 6:51 AM

    I will use to compress my pdf files with password and send them by mail

  • Twitee December 13, 2010, 9:57 AM

    Very powerful archiver and very good program. I would like to win one.

  • Burus2 December 13, 2010, 8:11 PM

    I would like to beacuse winrar is the best archiver. He is very simple and effective.

  • KCan December 14, 2010, 11:05 PM

    A chance to win one of my software favorites. Count me in. Very useful due to all the different compression formats WinRAR supports.

  • Winterstream December 15, 2010, 12:20 AM

    I have been using IZarc and must say it is a brilliant program and it’s also freeware, but I would like to try WinRAR again, as I use to use it and loved it, so it will bring back some good memories.

  • Zug December 15, 2010, 7:22 AM

    I used to use winrar but I got tired of the pesky popup.. i started to use 7-zip and havae been using that for a while.. I would love to go back to winrar and would love a shot at this..

    Thanks for another great giveaway.
    Zug

  • qwer0 December 15, 2010, 2:45 PM

    Great archiving software (now i’m registered so u can count me 🙂 )

  • jamir December 17, 2010, 4:01 AM

    because it is the compression software most used, the more stable, so I can open with it any archive that I downloaded

  • Antbil007 December 17, 2010, 12:11 PM

    I’m waiting for license more then 2 years. I participated in many competitions, giveaways to get a license. Maybe this time will be mine?

  • Tim December 17, 2010, 7:24 PM

    This is a first software I always install on new computers, very powerful.And everybody knows this is the best archiving manager.Please count me in.

  • farmer December 19, 2010, 12:23 AM

    WinRAR very good program to compress and archive plików.Prosty interface to quickly and niezbędny.Dziękuję for this contest:)

  • Phillip December 19, 2010, 6:25 PM

    One please.

  • Murphy Reality December 20, 2010, 5:54 PM

    Hi,
    Sorry but I changed my mind. Please do not take me into consideration for this Giveaway . Thank you .
    Congratulations again for all Giveaways .
    Best regards !

  • paulp December 1, 2011, 9:17 PM

    Winrar archiever is one of the best in its category, i know because i am currently using version 3.xx. This will be a much needed upgrade.

  • Cool December 2, 2011, 12:35 AM

    Thank for this giveaway I need this license because it is a very good software and I am using the free version right now. Find it very annoying every time running a zipped file a pop up will appear telling it is unregistered. It also remove some limitation for free user.

    Thank for another great giveaway! Count me in 🙂

  • Isd December 2, 2011, 6:58 PM

    Thanks for the giveaway. Please count me also.
    Isd

  • MichaÅ‚ December 3, 2011, 4:48 PM

    I need it to makes rar formats. Please count me in!

  • Lee December 6, 2011, 10:42 PM

    Please count me in the draw!

  • Emt_32 December 13, 2011, 8:22 AM

    I using 7-zip, but if i win use winrar.
    thanks for all great giveaways.

  • kburleson December 14, 2011, 6:38 AM

    Please count me in for the draw!!  I love Winrar and would like to have a full working version.

  • Nitirat Suvankasa December 15, 2011, 6:48 PM

    winrar is best compress program i want thai

  • Alex December 19, 2011, 2:04 PM

    really great and reaylly best Archiever! I like this nice software. Thanks Avinashtech and Yosefine for this chance!!!
    http://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=135865846525274&id=100003055787962
    https://twitter.com/#!/Alex77toy/status/148681763697332225

  • berni42 December 21, 2011, 1:46 PM

    With it I can easily and quickly compress files.
    Great Giveaway! Thnx ;D

  • Sunilkmadam December 25, 2011, 7:52 PM

    I like this software very much.please count me.thanks

  • Adam Wampir January 3, 2012, 12:38 AM

    Please send me a license.

  • Ernie Sampson January 3, 2012, 12:58 AM

    Nothing tops WinRAR as a universal archiver tool. Please consider me for the draw.
    Thank you,
    Ernie Sampson

  • Dav532000 January 25, 2012, 2:04 AM

    Winrar is an excellent App that everyone should have count me in please and thanks. 

Leave a Comment