≡ Menu

ABC 12: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Review and License Giveaway

Here is 12th Giveaway in series of Avinashtech Birthday Celebrations i.e. ABC 12. We are giving away 15 licenses of Malwarebytes Anti-Malware today to readers of Avinashtech.

PS: This review is done by one of our Forum Member Grr.

Review: Malwarebytes’ Anti-Malware version 1.50

———————————————————————-
Developer’s Description:

In our product we have compiled a number of new technologies that are designed to quickly detect, destroy, and prevent malware.

Malwarebytes’ Anti-Malware can detect and remove malware that even the most well known anti-virus and anti-malware applications fail to detect. Malwarebytes’ Anti-Malware monitors every process and stops malicious processes before they even start.

The realtime protection module uses our advanced heuristic scanning technology which monitors your system to keep it safe and secure. In addition, we have implemented a threats center which will allow you to keep up to date with the latest malware threats.

Key Features

  • Support for Windows 2000, XP, Vista, and 7 (32-bit and 64-bit).
  • Light speed quick scanning.
  • Ability to perform full scans for all drives.
  • Malwarebytes’ Anti-Malware protection module. (requires registration)
  • Database updates released daily.
  • Quarantine to hold threats and restore them at your convenience.
  • Ignore list for both the scanner and Protection Module.
  • Settings to enhance your Malwarebytes’ Anti-Malware performance.
  • A small list of extra utilities to help remove malware manually.
  • Multi-lingual support.
  • Works together with other anti-malware utilities.
  • Command line support for quick scanning.
  • Context menu integration to scan files on demand.

Review

The installation was very smooth and did not require any inputs. Upon fresh installation it asks for update. I skipped it for the moment.Read below for details:

The Good:

1. Good in its category for detection.

2. Strong Real-time protection.

3. Compatible with almost every Security Suite, such as Kaspersky, Fsecure, Norton, Mcafee, Avast.

4. Right click context menu for easy usage.

5. Ability to select scan memory, startup, registry and filesystem objects.

6. Defined functions for the following:

  • Action for Potentially unwanted programs
  • Action for Potentially unwanted modifications
  • Action for peer-to-peer software

7. Set warning if the database is X days old.

8. Protects from malicious sites/IP.

9. Ignore list for both the scanner and Protection Module

The Bad:

1. GUI is not attractive. It is the same as in the versions released years ago.

2. No incremental updates.

3. No trial Pro version to test the PRO specific features like Real-time protection, flash scan, auto-update.

4. My attempt to cancel the update before it started resulted in getting “Program not responding”.

5. High use of system resources while scanning, typically for FULL scan, Average CPU usage= 16.28% and Memory=73,132k

6. Frequently affects system responsiveness during FULL scan.

7. The system loads faster after booting, if MBAM is not installed.

8. For the scan statistics below I Do Not agree with the feature “Light speed quick scanning”.

9. No improvement in Scanning Speed. From the previous version for FULL scan it took, 37 minutes 15 seconds for 224628 Objects, while the latest version took 1 hour 11 minutes 13 seconds for 343859 Objects. This does not shows any improvement to me.

Values for scans:

Quick Scan
—————-
Objects scanned: 165617
Time required: 7 minutes 22 seconds

Full Scan
—————-
Objects scanned: 343859
Time required: 1 hour 11 minutes 13 seconds

GIVEAWAY :

Thanks to Marcin from Malwarebytes, I have Fifteen (15) Licenses of  Malwarebytes Anti-Malware to giveaway to Avtechies.  The rules are simple. For being eligible to participate in contest/draw, you need to do the following:

  1. Subscribe to Avinashtech by entering your email address in the subscribe box on right sidebar of the blog or by clicking this link. Do remember to verify your email address when you get the verification email from Feedburner.
  2. After that, just leave your name and email address in the form by clicking this link.
  3. Leave a comment below telling why you would like to have Malwarebytes Anti-Malware License.

Keep in mind, Multiple entries will disqualify you from the draw.

PS: One license is reserved for reviewer Grr and 2 others for Forum members/Avinashtech Staff. Rest 12 will be decided by the draw through Random.org list randomiser.

Forum Discussion thread: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Discussion and Review/feedback

About the author: A Mechanical Design Engineer by profession, but passionate about Computers, software and anything that helps to learn something new or different. Love to do things which i don’t know and dive into unknown territories.

90 comments… add one
  • smudgie December 13, 2010, 11:26 PM

    The freeware version of Malwarebytes has always been my first line scanner when something seems not right…it’s typically the quickest for me in terms of loading and scanning. Would love the PRO version!

  • Dhiraj Sinha December 13, 2010, 11:27 PM

    Hello avinashtech,
    I currently use Vipre Antivirus Premium which is a nice security suite.However,since a standalone antispyware will always trump an integrated solution,I would love to win a license of MBAM Pro.So definitely count me in the giveaway please.
    P.S. As stipulated,I have subscribed to the email feeds.

  • Husbamby December 13, 2010, 11:48 PM

    am using malwarebytes free edition for one year now and since that time i never worried about spyware or malware attacks to my pc
    it is working perfect with avast anti virus to protect my pc
    i keep do scan regularly to keep my pc clean
    i wish to get the full version to get the realtime protection that the free version doesnt have
    thank you so much for this giveaway and happy birthday 🙂

  • sicario December 14, 2010, 12:21 AM

    Hi thanks for the contest!! is one of my favorites, I’ve been using for a long time to scan, and I would love to get the Pro version =)

  • TeXaCo December 14, 2010, 1:00 AM

    Malwarebytes is the go to program for keeping malware off your computer. I use the free version now and would not be without it. I hope to win a copy of the paid version so I can allow it to run all the time on the computer.

    Thanks for the chance to win it.

  • Kosma04 December 14, 2010, 1:29 AM

    Hi
    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware is a very good program protecting your computer against attacks from the Internet,I used the free version and I was pleased with the performance.
    Please, count me in.
    Thanks

  • a9rp December 14, 2010, 1:30 AM

    Hello 😀

    Why i would like to win one license ?
    Its easy , because malwarebytes antimalware pro is the best second opinion scanner, Pro version has IP blocker and really good detection.

    I hope i win

  • Jakub December 14, 2010, 1:38 AM

    So many extra presents! i can’t believe it 🙂
    I would like to have one Licenses please.
    Thanks for this giveaway.

    Jakub

  • Fulanito December 14, 2010, 1:39 AM

    Hello, I’d like to win one license to try the real time protection (never used it as there isn’t trial for the pro version) and also I’d like to have automatic updates.
    Thanks

  • Driftlord December 14, 2010, 1:41 AM

    Hi,

    Please count me in for the Malwarebytes Antimalware Pro giveaway.The Real-time feature can be real saviour against increasing Fake Av’s drive-by downloads.
    Also the flash scan in the licensed version is good as quick scan too.
    Thanks.

  • iPrism December 14, 2010, 2:20 AM

    Hello Avinash,

    Awesome Giveaway!
    I would like to win a license for MBAM’s realtime,website blocking features,etc.Currently using the free version as on-demand scanner.Thank you,hope to win one 😀

  • Ibheck December 14, 2010, 2:37 AM

    This giveaway that I looked forward to, license key malwarebyte lifetime will be very compatible when installed in my laptop
    I’ve just used the free version is now time to try the pro version

  • Peterb December 14, 2010, 2:43 AM

    Hi, I would like to enter your contest for malwarebytes.
    I think it is a very good tool. I use the freeware edition, but it is very timeconsuming to manual check for bad stuff all the time. As a student, every penny counts, so I cant afford the pro edition right now.
    (I’m a forum and mail member)

  • Ajemsasa December 14, 2010, 3:28 AM

    MBAM is simply the best malware detector. Count me in, please. Best regards from Belgrade!

  • Xu_N December 14, 2010, 4:08 AM

    I love MBAM based on two main reasons
    1/ Strong capacity in detection/protection
    2/ Compatible with most of security suite
    I am using its free version, always wish to have one MBAM License
    Many thanks

  • ToGor December 14, 2010, 4:15 AM

    MBAM scans your memory, running processes, registry and hard drive for malware. I am using the free version. Thanks for this contest.

  • Mike M December 14, 2010, 4:16 AM

    If this works good with Avast I think I would like a copy of the pro version to use. Please include me in this as I have herd a lot about but never tried.

  • Kvhc128 December 14, 2010, 4:32 AM

    I have heard about this software quite a lot. My Webroot Spy Sweeper license is expiring in about a month, so this would help replace it so I do not have to buy another license.

  • leslie December 14, 2010, 4:34 AM

    Hello, great giveaway.

    I haven’t used Malwarebytes in a while, but when I did, it really helped me fix some weird PC problems. It’s detection and removal capabilties were amazing. It found some malware and other malicious files i didn’t even know about.

    I recently tried the latest freeware version of MB to see the new changes, and it was great. I love to win a pro licence.

    So, i’ve subscribed to the newsletter, and filled in the form. Please count me in.

  • Paf Borg December 14, 2010, 5:18 AM

    Hi Avinash, thanks from the heart for this great giveaway. I’ve always wanted to use MBAM Pro, because of the realtime protection, but I never had the chance to do it. Currently I’m using the free version. Please count me in, if possible. Thanks in advance. Best regards.

  • Hakah December 14, 2010, 6:03 AM

    Malwarebytes is a very good AntiSpyware software which monitors all process and stops any malicious processes before they start. It works well with other AntiVirus products and really ensures you maximum and uptmost security and safety of you pc.
    Please include me in this Giveaway and many thanks to Avinashtech for this special event!

  • magno December 14, 2010, 6:05 AM

    I’d like to earn a license Malwarebytes Anti-Malware because it’s the best anti-malware nowadays already helped me to rid the PC of several worms without needing to format the machine.

  • Anthony December 14, 2010, 7:58 AM

    I love Malwarebytes. I have used their software since release. The software works wonders and far superior over their competitors. I love to have a licence please.

  • Nick December 14, 2010, 7:59 AM

    Count me in for one please.

  • Mayur December 14, 2010, 8:00 AM

    I am using avg free antivires and I have herd a lot about but never tried.I would like a copy of the pro version to use. Please include me in this give away.

  • Rich December 14, 2010, 8:01 AM

    I have used Malwarebytes for about 4 years and find the software to useful in anti-malware. I would like to try out the pro version if possible.

  • Philip December 14, 2010, 8:01 AM

    One licence please.

  • Bob December 14, 2010, 8:02 AM

    The first line of defense against malware in every company is malwarebytes. The software rules and I love to have the pro version.

  • svwrt December 14, 2010, 9:05 AM

    It can clean all the nasties that Antiviruses are leaving behind.
    Really necessary security tool.

  • Wheezer December 14, 2010, 9:19 AM

    I’ve been using the free version for years and would love to upgrade to the full version.

    Thank you for arranging for all these great giveaways!

  • Zug December 14, 2010, 9:37 AM

    MBAM Pro is definitely a MUST HAVE program when it comes to anti-malware.. This program works along side just about every Antivirus and Firewall.. I have used MBAM for a long time and would love to get a license.

    Please count me in.
    Zug

  • Krin December 14, 2010, 9:40 AM

    Dont have any security for my PC, pls accept me
    Hope to win this gift, I like it as in the review it has strong detection
    Thanks Avinashtech

  • ToGor December 14, 2010, 10:10 AM

    I do not see my comment, so I will again.
    MBAM scans your memory, running processes, registry and hard drive for malware. I am using the free version. Thanks for this contest.

    • Avinash December 14, 2010, 12:24 PM

      Well, just wait for few hours as all comments need to be approved. So you comment will appear after it gets approved.

      • ToGor December 14, 2010, 6:00 PM

        ( 5 hours ago and 13 hours ago) – I have a double entry – you can improve?
        Thanks for your help.

  • Neo December 14, 2010, 11:26 AM

    keep doing great job
    neo

  • Niroopsingh December 14, 2010, 12:19 PM

    Thanks for this giveaway Avinash sir.Malwarebytes is the Best Antimalware product.I also run malwarebytes in parallel with my antivirus product.It always detects virus and malwares that my antivirus missed.This product is really great.Hope i win one license.

    Regards,
    niroop

  • Boyfriend December 14, 2010, 12:27 PM

    Thanks AVINASH. Please count me in. MBAM is strong protection against rouges and missed malware.
    Regards

  • Willy December 14, 2010, 12:45 PM

    Thanks for the MBAM Pro giveaway.
    MBAM is so light in system resources consuming & good in malwares protections.It can also be running with other current AV together.
    Hope to get second protections.
    Thanks

  • Kweeny December 14, 2010, 1:01 PM

    The free version of MBAM has always been one of the first things I install on my system and trust it to catch the baddies and keep my system clean. The Pro version with realtime protection would definitely be an added asset for online security.
    Pls count me in the draw.

  • Alpha December 14, 2010, 1:06 PM

    Nice review. I wld like to hv it for my frnd. Thanks for the giveaway. 🙂

  • qwer0 December 14, 2010, 1:26 PM

    Good soft to improve security

  • poohkt December 14, 2010, 2:00 PM

    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware is an effective freeware antimalware tool. I have used the free version and would like to upgrade to the paid version which has real-time protection. Please count me in. Thanks a lot.

  • Shiva December 14, 2010, 3:58 PM

    HI PLEASE COUNT ME IN THIS CONTEST VERY GOOD SOFTWARE

  • Asrielrusdyawan December 14, 2010, 5:16 PM

    I really love using this software. It is highly recommended to use with antivirus no matter it is free antivirus or commercial.. I hope I can win this tool to strength my Windows Security Level.

    THX, LJBU!

  • Janrad December 14, 2010, 5:45 PM

    Nice to have chance to win the Pro,always the freeware version.

  • ha14 December 14, 2010, 5:49 PM

    thanks for the contest, the new version has new features such as Ability to schedule and unschedule scans and updates from the command line (paid version only), 3.Notifications of blocked malicious websites now include additional details such as type, port, and process on Windows Vista and higher

    With all improvements, I like it to scan in safe mode, practical.

  • rizlaroller December 14, 2010, 5:50 PM

    Count me in please.MBAM is great detector for most types of malware.I have used the free version since I started using a PC.
    Many Thanks for including this in your Christmas Giveaways.

  • Chrille December 14, 2010, 5:52 PM

    I would really need MBAM, because I could use some good protection on my computer. I have tried the free version before and it’s really good.:)

  • Nisse December 14, 2010, 5:55 PM

    This is a great program that I’d really like to win, as I don’t have any protection on my computer.

  • amozai December 14, 2010, 6:16 PM

    Thanks a lot for giving this great tool up for grab.
    I’ll would like to win a license.

    regards,

  • k19s December 14, 2010, 6:22 PM

    Hi, great giveaway please count me in. I’ve been using the free edition of Malwarebytes Anti-Malware and I found it extremely easy to use and it detection rate is fast and accurate. I would love to win a license so that I can experience the full version of this security software.
    Thanks

  • ugedej77 December 14, 2010, 6:35 PM

    Hello Avinashtech. Malwarebytes Antimalware is one of the best protection against threats from the Internet – that why i have to win this giveaway. Good luck.

  • tomasz m December 14, 2010, 6:42 PM

    Packages Internet Security protects your computer almost 100%, but not always it goes to them especially with malware, spyware, itp.Wtedy with the help of additional software comes in a Malwarebytes Antimalware Pro, which will remove what they could not remove our free pakiet.Wersja this program not once cleaned my computer from the muck, which is not detecting Internet package that comes Security.Do time protection rzeczywistym.Dlatego write up for this contest and I wish you all good luck: D

  • pss December 14, 2010, 6:58 PM

    Super skaner na żądanie, wszyscy moi znajomi korzystają z niego. Tutaj jest okazja by wygrać licencje na pełną wersję więc próbujcie kto żyw

    Translated : Super scanner on demand, all my friends enjoy it. Here is a chance to win a license for the full version so try food who

  • Ryan December 14, 2010, 7:19 PM

    this is one of the best malware scanner around…. I would like to have this…

  • Jake December 14, 2010, 7:41 PM

    Hello, I would like the Pro version of Malwarebytes’ so I can have better protection for my netbook, it is an excellent program and I’m thankful the authors created it.
    Thanks, and happy birthday! 🙂

  • Ellene December 14, 2010, 8:41 PM

    Malwarebytes works well with nearly all secuirty and antivirus products and ensures you maximum security and safety of your pc. Moreover it provides assistance on any removal of threats or problems solving in their Forum.
    Please include me in this special giveaway and thanks Avinashtech!

  • Tim December 14, 2010, 9:12 PM

    Malwarebytes is one of my favourite security applications.Great at removing infections and made to run alongside other AV’s. Overall, top quality software worth every penny. Pro version would be a great Christmas gift for me.Congrats and thanks to avinashtech for this giveaway.

  • Rauloviedo_80 December 14, 2010, 9:52 PM

    me encantaria ganar una de esas licencias! Muy bueno el concurso los Felicito!!!!

  • darma December 14, 2010, 9:55 PM

    I hope win a license for Malwarebytes Anti-Malware License because I need an easy to use but powerful spyware removal program. Thanks.

  • Ofen December 14, 2010, 10:12 PM

    For several years I am using Malwarebytes and I bestow it a big confidence,unfortunately the free version does not have real-time protection…it would be good to have full protection for your computer…

    Thanks for this giveaway!.

  • Ranjan December 14, 2010, 10:19 PM

    Hi Avi,
    Another wonderful giveaway.
    I’d like to win a license as Ive used the free version and its very good at doing its job. Even the security experts advise to keep the free version if they cant afford it. So, having the pro version would be ‘icing on the cake.

  • Ashwin December 14, 2010, 10:54 PM

    Good review Grr,

    I agree that lack of “incremental updates” is a bit annoying.

    Scan speed has been improved slightly, but I am not sure if its very fast.

    It depends on the number of files you have on the Hard-disk and RAM etc.

    • Grr December 18, 2010, 7:47 AM

      Thanks Ashwin..
      Agree that scan speed depends on files, data size & processor.
      But in any case what MBAM is claiming is very ideal case….

  • Winterstream December 14, 2010, 11:54 PM

    Malwarebytes is an amazing program, it has helped me numerous times to find malware where other AV and anti-malware programs have failed. There seems to be malware on one of my computers and I would like to test the Pro version of Malwarebytes on it, seeing as all other Anti-Virus solutions have failed. The Pro version would be a great addition to my arsenal!

  • socal70xr7 December 15, 2010, 12:24 AM

    This is a great program would be great to get a license for it

  • IVAN IVANOV December 15, 2010, 1:06 AM

    I am using the free version of Malwarebytes Anti-Malware from a long time. And I am so happy with it.
    The reason I would like to have the full version is- I can use this software for a real-time protection, auto-update and flash scan.

  • yuko December 15, 2010, 1:48 AM

    I’ve been using the free edition of Malwarebytes Anti-Malware. It has helped removing spywares on many computer. It’s a lifesaver. I hope I can win the pro version.

  • Relly December 15, 2010, 2:05 AM

    well, if the free is good enough,how much more is the full version, it’s really dependable, help solve my problem before when my pc was infected, using the free version, so i know this one is really a great offer, hope to win one license, thanks alot…….

  • KonRaD December 15, 2010, 2:11 AM

    MBAM is a very good defense against malware and it can run with other AV programs.
    The real-time module is perfect addition for other protective programs.
    Website blocking feature and auto-update schedule are very important extensions.

    Please, count me in.

  • my_immortalize December 15, 2010, 3:32 AM

    Count me in please…Thanks…

  • Quasar's Ankh December 15, 2010, 7:37 AM

    Malware can bite so we need to bite back!

    Please include me for this giveaway, thank you

  • joel December 15, 2010, 8:30 AM

    I have been using MBAM free version to clean up my family and my friends computers for free. I never have to spend money to pay for the computer to get fix. I hope I can win MBAM license lifetime.

  • Francis December 15, 2010, 1:52 PM

    I have used MBAM for 2 years but as Grr has said there is no trial for the PRO features. It would be great to win a license especially since it is a lifetime license.

  • Flash113 December 15, 2010, 2:59 PM

    Count me in on this please be great to get the pro version.

  • Mei December 15, 2010, 5:15 PM

    I’ve been using the freeware and beta-testing MBAM since its earliest days. I hope to win a Pro version license through this promo giveaway.

    Thank you, Av.

  • Testgotd December 15, 2010, 8:01 PM

    Hi AVINASH,
    Thanks for giveaway. Please count me in. I am using free version and want to use pro version for better protection. Thanks in advance.

  • Slim December 15, 2010, 8:27 PM

    A great giveaway. Currently using the freeware version. Thank you Avinashtech-Happy Birthday!

  • kirks December 15, 2010, 11:49 PM

    Hi, thanks for this nice giveaway.

    Well for me its one of the best anti-malware software, currently I’m using the free version of MBAM, so I just want the Pro version for another layer of security in my PC.

  • Solty_rei10 December 16, 2010, 9:46 AM

    i like realtime protection of this software

  • KCan December 16, 2010, 8:13 PM

    The full time protection by Malwarebytes Anti-Malware would be a welcome addition to my security needs. Nice giveaway.

  • kontik December 16, 2010, 9:36 PM

    I have been useing MBAM free from a long time.
    I would like to win MBAM Pro because it has real time protection.
    It would be a great addition to my security application.
    Thanks for this giveaway.

  • Aniketh December 16, 2010, 10:30 PM

    i am using free version of Malwarebytes Antimalware….would love to have the pro version.. 🙂

  • jamir December 17, 2010, 3:53 AM

    because it is better to protect me in real time against malware and rootkit/backdoor

  • dizzy December 17, 2010, 7:28 PM

    I have used the free version and would like to have the secure feel of the pro version,so count me in….

  • auro December 18, 2010, 2:08 AM

    I would like to enable real-time protection to surf safely and do not waste my time (I scan each site before access), I use the free version,
    plz enter me in

  • Phillip December 19, 2010, 5:56 PM

    One please.

  • LittleMechanic129 December 21, 2010, 10:48 AM

    Thanks for the great giveaway and please include me!

    I love the free Malwarebytes’ Antimalware and I would really like to be able to use the Pro version.

  • vicky November 12, 2012, 5:51 PM

    please tell me the license key……

Leave a Comment