Facebook Backtracks : We Are Sorry, Don’t Delete Account

1

I wrote about Facebook change of TOS  in previous post and the consequences that may occur due to this revision in their TOS. This revision in their TOS resulted in a wordwide uproar by facebook usrs and many user including me started to delete the Facebook accounts.

I had two facebook account last week  but i deleted one of them after the change in Facebook TOS. Today i was about to delete the second account when i saw that Message from Facebook on the account deletion page. here is what it reads.

Deactivating due to change in Terms of Service
Are you deactivating because you are concerned about Facebook’s Terms of Service?

This was a mistake that we have now corrected. You own the information you put on Facebook and you control what happens to it. We are sorry for the confusion. See http://blog.facebook.com/blog.php?post=54746167130 for more information.

– The Facebook Team

deletefacebookaccount
deletefacebookaccount

It seems facebook has reverted back to their old TOS for the timebeing. In their blog they have confirmed it. If you want you can read it here.

For many users that may seem ok but the way this has happened , i am now not confident enough to use facebook again and hence i have deleted my second account too. Goodbye Facebook.


A Mechanical Design Engineer by profession, but passionate about Computers, software and anything that helps to learn something new or different. Love to do things which i don't know and dive into unknown territories.

Leave A Reply