≡ Menu

CleanMyPC – Review and License key Giveaway

CleanMyPC comes with a bunch of tools which does exactly what the name suggests, it Cleans up your computer and recovers free space and removes invalid registry entries. And it comes with a beautiful UI 🙂

Let’s take a closer look at the features:

Note: During installation, there is an option to send anonymous usage statistics to the developers. You can uncheck that if you feel insecure. You can also uncheck this at the Options menu.

Disk Cleaner:

This is the primary module of CleanMyPC, and it scans your computer’s Harddisk for Junk files,logs, additional languages,etc and recovers some precious space for you. The trial version allows cleaning upto 500 MB free space. The scan took a few seconds to complete, and the cleaning took upto a minute.

Take a look at some screen shots.

Secure Erase:
You can securely erase files by using the right-click context menu. Just right click on a file and select Securely Erase with CleanMyPC. You can also slide the mouse downwards in the bottom right of your screen while using certain applications to open the Secure Erase module. Though it can be a pain, if you are actually trying to scroll down a webpage or a document.

Registry Cleaner:

This feature along with a few others, is actually locked, but the free version allows you to fix up to 50 registry issues.


It found about 75 issues for me, surprising as even System Mechanic or Glary Utilities didn’t find them.

When I clicked on “Fix 50 Registry Entries”, I expected it would allow me to select the entries that should be cleaned, but instead it cleaned them automatically. There is no option for registry backup/restore , this is a must for a registry cleaner. For now, you could create a system restore point before cleaning the registry items. I hope they add these features in a future version.

Unfortunately as I do not have a license, I could not explore the locked features in the trial version,so I am cutting this review short here. It looks like a good product,but they should have allowed us a 15 or 30 day trial period, I could have written a better review 😉

System requirements:
Windows 7/Vista/XP (32 or 64 bit)
.NET Runtime 3.0
Pentium 1 GHz or higher
512 MB of RAM
DirectX 9.0 and 15 mb of available hard disk space.

Pros:
Beautiful Interface.
The set of modules are actually quite intriguing.

Cons:
Trial version allows cleaning upto 500 mb space and 50 registry issues.Other features like Total Uninstall, Autorun, etc are locked in the trial version.

Scanning and cleaning of items is slightly slow.

Since it is a bit too pricey, I think there should be a feature-limited or ad-supported version similar to System Mechanic’s or Advanced System Care’s free versions. This would not only help them gain a large user base, but also allow users to test their software for a longer time before deciding to buy.

I have reviewed the trial version with limited features, and as such it may not do justice to the full version. But you could win yourself a license from our giveaway.

Giveaway

Thanks to CleanmyPC, we are giving away 5 license keys of CleanmyPC to readers of Avinashtech. Just follow the simple rules below to enter in this draw.

  1. Subscribe to Avinashtech by entering your email address in the subscribe box on right sidebar of the blog or by clicking this link. Do remember to verify your email address when you get the verification email from Feedburner.
  2. Like the Facebook Fan Page of Avinashtech (If you don’t have a Facebook account you can skip this).
  3. Suggest what you would like to see on Bitdefender facebook page www.facebook.com/bitdefender.
  4. Share this on Twitter, Facebook. (If you have an account there).

{ 44 comments… add one }
  • Cool December 18, 2011, 10:39 PM

    Yeah I had to agree that it got quite an impressive interface. I would skip using trial version due to its limitation they set but it is quite an interesting utilities none-the-less. Would like to give this a try if I win it.

    This could be used together with my current utilities to catch some of the issue or problem which possibly can be missed by different utilities suite. Hope they does not conflict and cause problem to each other which most probably not. Anyway thank for this giveaway and please do count me in!

    https://twitter.com/#!/CoolCrackerz/status/148449812809920512

  • ha14 December 18, 2011, 10:48 PM

    CleanMy PC is a great tool to easily recover big space on a hard drive securely and no expertise is required. A widget: Bitdefender Says No Yo Malwares
    http://twitter.com/#!/ha014/status/148451299137032192

  • Ng December 18, 2011, 10:49 PM

    Lol I think the developer put such a hefty price on this software probably solely on their interface design. Well frankly said this is the first time I heard of this but would like to give it a shot. Hopefully their function and capability will be as good and efficient as their interface.

    Please count me in this draw. Thank for this giveaway.

    https://twitter.com/#!/coolng1990/status/148449718643597312

    Cheer and have a good coming Christmas.

  • Guest December 18, 2011, 10:57 PM

    Nice review Ashwin. I am also surprised to see it found so many issues for you. Just wanted to mention these are lifetime license donated by Julia.

  • iPrism December 19, 2011, 1:21 AM

    Thank you Ashwin for the review, good job and also thanks to Avinash and Macpaw and Julia for the CleanMyPC licenses giveaway.I have heard only good things about the Mac version (CleanMyMac) about how through it is in cleaning many unwanted files from the system and giving it a nice performance.My suggestion that they should really drop the controversial ‘Registry Cleaner’ feature, I feel this as really unwanted and hardly any vendors gets its right which can become real troublesome for OS.PS – You should remove the third rule in the post above as I believe it belongs in the previous Bitdefender Internet Security giveaway :p

  • mike December 19, 2011, 5:37 AM

    count me in…

  • Numpayak December 19, 2011, 9:40 AM

    Excellent this giveaway.
    Please count me in the draw.

  • Mayur December 19, 2011, 12:42 PM
  • Alex December 19, 2011, 1:58 PM

    This is really an excellent and needful software. thanks for the giveaway!!!
    https://twitter.com/#!/Alex77toy/status/148680668208037888

  • Remsen December 19, 2011, 1:59 PM

    Another fine giveaway. Thanx Avinash.
    Count me in of course.
    Regards to all

  • paulcrousel December 19, 2011, 3:54 PM

    Cleanmypc is a great windows garbage cleaning tool, just run a scan and as the result sugggest i can easily gain 5go of free space. Thanks for the contest
    https://twitter.com/#!/paulcrousel/status/148708635114082304

  • Anthony December 19, 2011, 4:03 PM

    Count me in.

  • Lee December 19, 2011, 5:35 PM

    This looks like a fine PC maintenance utility – count me in the draw please!

  • SambasivaRao Kenguva December 19, 2011, 6:01 PM

    Would love to win this. Please Count me

    Thanks, Sambasiva

  • Alan Hazelwood December 19, 2011, 6:15 PM

    looks well laid out like to try

  • David December 19, 2011, 6:25 PM

    Thanks for the chance.

  • apn58 December 19, 2011, 6:38 PM

    Count me too, please!
    Thank you!

  • manuel December 19, 2011, 6:46 PM

    its always absolutely essential to have a program like this on any pc ,after all pcs are like cars they must have maintenance! thank you all have a nice christmas
    http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002245588801&sk=wall 
    hope to have one good luck , and good christmas to everyone

  • DYN1711 December 19, 2011, 6:53 PM

    Please, count me in.Thanks

  • Jef December 19, 2011, 6:53 PM

    Nice giveaway, count me in.
    Thanks.

  • biswasark December 19, 2011, 7:17 PM

    Nice giveaway!
    Please count me in.
    Thanks…….. 
    Shared…..http://www.facebook.com/bishnath

  • darma December 19, 2011, 7:47 PM

    A really nice & handy utility to solve many pc problems. Please count me in. Thanks.

  • Thegamekiller94 December 19, 2011, 8:20 PM

    Thanks..Include me

  • Haclong0901 December 19, 2011, 8:39 PM

    please count me

    thank you very much

    http://www.facebook.com/vinhphucntp

  • my_immortalize December 19, 2011, 10:22 PM
  • bala December 19, 2011, 11:15 PM

    Good review ash. This same thing would have happened with me if i had not got a system mechanic license. It also has a trial mode which is good. you should have requested the developer for a test key, as the product would have been thoroughly reviewed. Count me in too. Interface is one of the slickest i have seen. Feature set looks good but the lack of a restorer for wrong actions is a big minus point. Any way would like to try this out. 

  • Guest December 20, 2011, 6:47 AM

    I have already downloaded CleanmyPC and use as trial freely for 6 days. I need this one. Thanks! 🙂

  • Kerry Burleson December 20, 2011, 7:35 AM

    Please count me in!! I would love to use this software for cleaning my p.c.
    http://www.facebook.com/#!/burlesonkerry

  • davhag64 December 20, 2011, 8:12 AM

    I would love to have this software. It seems like it would be a great software. Have not had time to check on it yet. been at the hospital for the last two days. My third youngest daughter just had a third grandson for my wife and I. We got some boys after all.

  • Fil December 20, 2011, 9:49 AM

    Thanks Count me in!

  • Ac December 20, 2011, 11:24 AM

    This would be absolutely the right time for me to get this software! Some registry issues keep cropping up…

  • Jerzy601 December 20, 2011, 3:53 PM

    znakomity soft do utrzymywania porzadku w naszym systemie.prosze mnie liczyc.

  • Asrielrusdyawan December 20, 2011, 8:53 PM

    Thanks Dear Avi for This Giveaway!
    Please count me in Dear Avi.

    I want to use this tool to clean-up all the mess inside my C Drive:-)..
    https://www.facebook.com/asrielrusdyawan/posts/1704126500758

    THX, LJBU!

  • Cory Gordon December 21, 2011, 6:23 AM

    Please include me for the cleanmyPC offer. i would like to use and comapre to other similar programs. THANKS

  • Glib2007 December 21, 2011, 11:49 AM

    I always wanted to have system utilities that has a lifetime license and I think this is the software that I am looking for. I cannot afford to buy software like this..Please count me in this giveaway..Please, please…I always participate in giveaways about system utilities or optimizer programs but I am not lucky. I hope i would win this giveaway. Please….

  • Rajesh Ghadye December 26, 2011, 5:26 PM

    CLEANMYPC PROVIDE A CLEANING OPTIONS TOWARDS CACHE, LOGS, JUNK FILE, UNUSABLE HELP FILE ETC. IT ALSO A FILE SHREDDER, UNINSTALLER, REGISTRY CLEANER. PROVIDE A SIMPLE UI, EASY TO USE.

    COUNT ME IN AVINASH

  • RGG SOFT December 27, 2011, 5:19 PM

    ONE STANDALONE  BOUNDED CLEANUP TOOLS COVERING TEMP FILES, LOGS FILE.
    LOVE TO HAVE IT, COUNT ME IN FOR THIS ONE AVINASHTECH

  • SinoTiger December 30, 2011, 10:58 PM

    This is a very very useful software and I would like to win one licence key.Thank you very much

  • Matt January 4, 2012, 2:45 AM

    Always useful.

  • jam_vall January 7, 2012, 3:21 PM

    CleanMyPC is a good software to have in your PC. It does what it says. It has a nice UI and its a lifetime license. It would be great to have this app on my PC. Hope to win one…

  • Tom_jo69 January 7, 2012, 3:23 PM

    Random.org, please choose me. I just really need this software…Hope to win one. I need a software that is a lifetime….

  • Jdpv007 January 7, 2012, 3:24 PM

    CleanMyPC is a nice software to have in your PC. Its simple but effective. Hope to win one…

  • Grinchjames730 January 7, 2012, 3:26 PM

    When you have a computer, you always need a software that maintains and cleans it. It is CleanMyPC that you need. It would be great to have this.. Please count me in….

  • Tom_jo69 January 7, 2012, 3:27 PM

    Hope to win one of the licenses. This is recommende by my friends and co-worker. Hope to win one. Thanks Avinashtech for the giveaway…

Leave a Comment